Undersea Warfare Academic Group


Dr. Andres Larraza

Spanagel Hall, Room 200C

(831) 656-3007, DSN 756-3007


Chair Professor of Undersea Warfare and Director of Undersea Warfare Research Center

Winford G. Ellis, RADM, USN (Ret.),

(831) 656-2488 /DSN 756-2488

Fax: (831) 656-2336


Chair Professor of Mine and Expeditionary Warfare

Rick Williams, RADM USN (Ret.)

(831) 656-7702 /DSN 756-7702

Fax: (831) 656-3679


Steven Richard Baker, Emeritus Associate Professor (1985); Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1985.

Donald P. Brutzman, Associate Professor (1995); Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School, 1994.

Ching-Sang Chiu, Emeritus Professor (1988); Sc.D, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, 1985.

Peter C. Chu, Distinguished Professor and Chair of Oceanography (1986); Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1985.

John A. Colosi, Professor (2005); Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz, 1993.

Roberto Cristi, Professor (1985); Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, 1983.

Bruce C. Denardo, Associate Professor (1998); Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1990.

James Norfleet Eagle, II, Emeritus Professor (1983); Ph.D., Stanford University, 1975.

Winford G. Ellis, RADM USN (ret), Chair Professor of Undersea Warfare (2009); M.S., Sloan School of Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1974.

Monique P. Fargues, Professor (1989); Ph.D., Virginia Tech, 1988.

Garth V. Hobson, Professor and Chair of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (1990); Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, 1990.

Joseph Hooper, Professor (2011); Ph.D., Tulane University, 2006.

Douglas P. Horner, Research Assistant Professor (2005); M.S., Naval Postgraduate School, 1999.

John Joseph, CDR, USN (Ret.), Faculty Associate, Research (2006); M.S., Radford University, 1979, M.S., Naval Postgraduate School, 1991.

Isaac I. Kaminer, Professor (1992); Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1992.

Wei Kang, Professor (1994); Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 1991.

Daphne Kapolka, Emeritus Senior Lecturer (2000); Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School, 1997.

Andres Larraza, Associate Professor, (1989); Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1987.

James MacMahan, Associate Professor (2007), Ph.D., University of Florida, 2003.

Knox T. Millsaps, Emeritus Professor (1992); Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1991.

Jeffrey D. Paduan, Dean of Research and Professor (1991); Ph.D., Oregon State University, Corvallis, 1987.

Steven E. Pilnick, Senior Lecturer (1999); Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School, 1989.

I. Michael Ross, Professor (1990); Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, 1990.

Clyde Scandrett, Professor (1987); Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1985.

David A. Schrady, Distinguished Professor Emeritus (1965); Ph.D., Case Institute of Technology, 1965.

Kevin B. Smith, Professor (1995); Ph.D., University of Miami, 1991.

Mike Traweek, Visiting Professor (2010) Program Officer at ONR in Ocean Battlespace Sensing Department, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, 2003 .

Alan Washburn, Emeritus Professor (1970); Ph.D., Carnegie Institute of Technology, 1965.

Richard D. Williams III, RADM, USN (Ret.), Chair Professor of Mine and Expeditionary Warfare (2005); M.S. Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, 1972.

Oleg A. Yakimenko, Professor (1989); Ph.D., Russian Academy of Sciences, 1991.

Xiaoping Yun, Professor (1994); Sc.D., Washington University, 1987.

Lawrence J. Ziomek, Professor (1982); Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, 1981.

Hong Zhou, Professor (2004); Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1996.

* The year of joining the Naval Postgraduate School faculty is indicated in parentheses.

Brief Overview

The Undersea Warfare Academic Group (USWAG) is an interdisciplinary association of faculty and academic professorships providing oversight for multiple Undersea Warfare (USW) degree programs. The USWAG has administrative responsibility for the academic content of the USW Curriculum. Teaching in this interdisciplinary program is carried out by faculty members attached to the following academic departments: Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mathematics, Oceanography, Operations Research, Mechanical Engineering and Physics. Affiliated with the USWAG is the Center for Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (AUV) Research. The Chair, USWAG approves thesis topics for students in the Undersea Warfare curricula.


Students seeking the Master of Science in Applied Science degree under the cognizance of the Chair, Undersea Warfare Academic Group must successfully complete the following:

  1. A minimum of 32 quarter-hours of graduate level courses relevant to undersea warfare, including at least 20 hours to satisfy a major from either the Physics Department (Acoustics), Oceanography Department (Physical Oceanography), or Electrical and Computer Engineering Department (Signal Processing).
  2. A sequence of at least 12 hours of graduate level courses representing a specialization in some area other than that of the major.
  3. At least 12 hours of coursework at the 4000 level.

An acceptable thesis advised or co-advised by a member of the respective department.

Undersea Warfare Course Descriptions

UW Courses